Naked Heat

It’s been a long time I feel like since Urban Decay came out with another eye shadow palette. I haven’t actually bothered to look up when the Smoky palette came out but it’s felt like a hot minute. I just started getting interested in adding eye shadow to my everyday looks and I somehow had managed to get Naked 1-3 and the Smoky palette. I was really excited for Naked Heat to complete this collection especially since I have held off on palettes with the red/coral family.

FullSizeRender (4)

Naked Heat Shades

I’ve looked at a lot of Instagram posts of the palette right before it came out and I couldn’t help but notice that most of the looks done with it seemed like a singular shade. It all just looked like a light red/orange behind the eyes.

I tried two looks on my first two days with just this palette and came up with the following looks.

IMG_3340

Naked Heat Look #1

 

This first look I used Ounce as the base shade all over the lids. I then moved on to Cayenne for a matte shade in the outer corner of my eye and when I decided that just that shade was too dull, I added Scorched over it. I wanted a lighter shimmer in my inner corners and decided to go with Lumbre. It’s a very beautiful rose gold (heavier on the gold).

I’ve known for a while that I have trouble taking photos of my eyeshadow looks what actually reflect the color in real life (as most of my posts so far make it look like it was pretty much one shade all over. Kind of why I thought the palette would be different in person compared to the Instagram posts that I’ve seen.)

This wasn’t exactly the situation though. The end result was pretty much a light red gold transitioning into a deep red gold. I tried the look with the Urban Decay Eden primer potion initially but when the colors weren’t popping quite enough I switched to the Urban Decay Sin Primer with the shimmery undertone.

IMG_3343

Please ignore the snap filter, it’s the only pic that shows the more obvious gradient

This second look I went with a huge mix of deep shades in the outer corner. It was so messy to the point where I really can’t tell you which shade I used in which area of the eye. The most I can say was that I used the shade Ashes to deepen the corners. I even kept using that shade after I had already applied eyeliner. I didn’t use any eye shadow in my inner corner at all in hopes to create a more obvious gradient look.

By the way, as I’m such a newbie at the eyeshadow game, all I’m constantly looking for is an easy application process. I’ve only had to use three brushes to create all these looks. My favorite is the Morphe 433 brush. It’s an incredibly easy to use brush especially with Asian eyes as I have to draw on a crease every morning to create the space for the rest of the eye. The next most awesome brush is a brush from IT Cosmetics that I got from Ulta; the No. 220 Small Shadow brush. It’s the perfect size to add corner deepening shades, add shadow to the bottom outer corner of the eye, and can even be used for blending. The density of this brush is universal for all uses as is the Morphe 433. Finally the classic blending brush also from Ulta, with IT Cosmtics and unfortunately it’s so worn down I can’t see a brush number or anything else for that matter on the sides. But I know that they advertise it as the “best blending” brush, just like they advertise others as “best foundation brush, best brow brush, etc.”

Now  back to what this post is supposed to be about, my final Naked Heat look was quite a success! I used the shades En Fuego and Ashes in the outer corner and topped with the shade Ember. With the inner corner, I used the shade Booty Call and just a miniscule amount of Half Baked from Naked 2 to create the more obvious gradient look. I have to say I dig this one soooooo much more.

IMG_3345.JPG

Naked Heat and Naked 2

Naked Heat is a palette of coral, copper, and red shades. It’s definitely not a complete look kind of palette like Naked or Naked 2.

IMG_3347

Naked Heat and Naked 2

All in all, very beautiful shades, very pigmented, and has a great mix of matte and shimmer shades. Maybe if I try the shades on the left of the palette a bit more I could create whole looks with this palette but for now I think I’ll use it as a specific color scheme kind of palette? Hope that makes sense. It may also be harder for me to fully appreciate this palette just because I can’t wear such dramatic looks at work during the week and on weekends I’m out right now with summer activities that would be best suited with no make up use.

I’ve been trying to get back on WordPress for a hot minute! But life has just been so incredibly busy lately. I’m gonna make sure to make this a more regular thing once again. Writing these reviews seriously improves my mood!

2 comments

  1. The shades in this palette are gorgeous but you’re right! Very hard to use on a daily basis. I also feel like Morphe has so many palettes with these colours so what sets this apart from buying a Morphe palette? I wish Urban Decay wasn’t so out dated sometimes can moved with the trends. Oh well, it’s not an atrocious palette and does seem to do the job. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

